Are You Wasting Your Reading?

Leave a comment

September 24, 2012 by chriszumtobel

I love to read articles online, all kinds of articles, and I think most people are the same way.  But how often are we actually incorporating the advice given by the articles into our own lifestyles?  And how often is anything in these articles even worth remembering? From now on I’m going to make an effort to find out and to quantify my learning from semi-random web searching.

I’m going to subsidize (or I guess you could say create my own Sparknotes version of) what I read, as best as I can, into one sentence that I believe either captures the gist of the article or any individual point made by the writer that seems worth noting.  If there is nothing from the article that is memorable, then I will steer clear from that site or author in the future, rather than waste my time reading more uninspiring articles.  I will paste the URL beneath my sentence long summary, organizing my thoughts and giving me the opportunity to easily reread certain posts that have been on my mind.

I believe this will help me, not only to eliminate wasted reading time, but also to remember and look back on the ideas behind the articles that were worthwhile.  The only exception will be any articles that are purely an enjoyable read.  These I will intersperse between my other readings, and only allow myself 3 per day, so as to not misuse my time as I continue making ProgressDaily!

Do you waste a lot of time reading fluffy articles? Do you think this is a good strategy to hold yourself accountable for the time you spend online?  Let’s talk about it in the comments!

Something to add? We'd love to hear it!

