Learn to Play the Guitar on Mahalo!

4

September 28, 2012 by chriszumtobel

Thanks to a cool new website called Mahalo (thank you in Hawaiian), today I took my first baby steps toward no longer being completely incompetent with a guitar.  As you may know from my post the other day on the Wilco concert, music is something that I love but absolutely cannot even begin to understand.

I really can’t stand my entire lack of musical ability (and hate the amount of focus it takes for me to clap in rhythm with a crowd), so I decided I need to do something about it: in my syllabus, I have included a self-directed guitar practice three days a week and today I think I found just the site for it.

Mahalo claims to be a site where you can “learn anything” and although I am yet to find anything besides the guitar lessons which has really caught my eye, so far these tutorials have been really helpful.  Mahalo is an convenient, free way for a true beginner like me to learn the basics of the guitar.

There are many different guitar tutorials on the site, but I have mostly been switching between just two of them.  I start with this one (mostly because I think the girl is pretty) and then switch to this one, whenever I need some reinforcement in a certain technique or concept.  They are both very similar as far as approach and teaching style, each of them following almost the exact same learning path.

Once I finish these I will have the option to move on to an intermediate class, but it seems to me that if you stick through the course to the end, you will have a solid enough base for learning the guitar and you will be able to just pick songs you like and learn from the tabs you find online.

So far I like the tutorials well enough but I can’t help but wish I could find more of an interactive way to learn the guitar, more in the style of Duolingo. I can’t seem to find one yet though… so for the time being these tutorials will do just fine.  Maybe I will try to get my musical genius brother on board and we will put together some kind of curriculum and website? You never know…

Have you had much luck learning guitar online? Any advice to the newbies?

4 thoughts on “Learn to Play the Guitar on Mahalo!

  1. Go to YouTube and search ” Marty Schwartz super easy” and find a song you like. When you get better, drop the super 🙂

  2. Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make
    my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Appreciate it

  3. Howdy, I stumbled upon your web site through Yahoo and google when you are evaluating a comparable topic, your web site got here up, this indicates excellent. I have book marked to favourites features and functions|added onto my personal book marking. Howdy, I stumbled upon your web site through Yahoo and google when you are evaluating a comparable topic, your web site got here up, this indicates excellent. I have book marked to favourites features and functions|added onto my personal book marking.

Something to add? We'd love to hear it!

