Quest for the Crispy Waffle pt 2

Leave a comment

October 3, 2012 by chriszumtobel

Since I ended up not loving my waffles yesterday, I decided I needed to give it another shot this morning… I found a new recipe, which seemed a bit simpler and I woke up early for my second day in a row to try it out!

The waffles today ended up having a million times better crunch and inner texture, but I really don’t think it was because of the recipe or even the different waffle iron (although it may have helped a little).  What really made the difference was that I didn’t make any mistakes at all this time and I actually beat the egg whites until they “formed stiff peaks”.  Below I’m going to walk through the steps they outline in the process in case there are any other somewhat recipe-illiterate readers like me…

The ingredients are simple enough and that is really why I liked this recipe, I wanted simple tasty waffles.  The only part that confused me at first was how to separate the whites from the yolk, but after watching this Youtube tutorial I realize that it is actually quite easy and it is rather fun.

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (Substitute for white wheat flour for a more health conscious option)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 egg yolks (see above)
  • 1 3/4 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup canola oil (could replace with sunflower oil, or even applesauce)
  • 2 egg whites (see above)

I will translate the less straight forward parts of the steps to laymen’s terms or add videos just because I know that is the way I like to read recipes…

  1. In a medium mixing bowl stir together flour, baking powder, and salt. Make a well in the center. Pretty straight forward.

  2. In another bowl beat egg yolks slightly. Stir in milk and oil.  Refer to above for how to separate yolk from white.

  3. Add egg yolk mixture all at once to the dry mixture. Stir just till moistened (should be lumpy). So when they say should be lumpy, it doesn’t mean dry clumps.  This is the last you will actually be stirring it, so make it smooth enough for the waffle iron.  Just be sure not to over stir.

  4. In a small bowl beat egg whites until stiff peaks form (tips stand straight up).  I did this step by hand and it takes a little while (5 mins), depending on your whisking skill and forearm strength and you can see why here.  If you have an electric mixer I recommend using it for this step.

  5. Gently fold egg whites into flour and egg yolk mixture, leaving a few fluffs of egg white, Do not overmix.  This step is fun and will make you feel like a real chef!  Make sure you get the technique right and once again don’t over do it. Just enough to spread the whites throughout.

  6. Spoon waffle batter into your waffle iron, making sure not to overfill it.  Just a thin, smooth layer throughout, although sometimes the waffles look nice not all the way filled in.

  7. Serve with real maple syrup and unsalted butter.  Or just however you like them!

These waffles turned out much better than yesterday, and they are almost what I was hoping for.  I’m going to keep try again in a few days and hopefully make a healthier alternative with the same texture and crunch but not such an oily flavor!

Do you have any advice for a budding chef?  😀  Any idea for an alternative recipe or healthier waffles?

Thanks for reading!

Something to add? We'd love to hear it!

