Movie: Being John Malkovich

Leave a comment

October 10, 2012 by chriszumtobel

I should start by letting you guys know that I am big Charlie Kaufman fan: I think his storylines are bizarre, his characters are issue-ridden, and his writing is superb. But until yesterday, I had never before seen Being John Malkovich, and to be honest, I don’t think it stands up to the bar he had set with both Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind and Adaptation: two of my very favorite movies.  I think my problem with the movie was mainly that I couldn’t get into the main character, played by John Cusak.  Usual in Kaufman’s movies I find the protagonist extremely sensitive and likeable, but that didn’t ring true here.  That being said, it is of course another bizarre and thought-provoking storyline and John Malkovich is great in the film.  I recommend giving it a shot yourself to form your own opinion (it is widely critically aclaimed), but I can’t help but recommend the other two of Kaufman’s movies, which I mentioned above, quite a bit higher.

Also, if you read this post on reading screenplays and found yourself interested at all, then Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is a great place to start!  You can find all of Charlie Kaufman’s writing on his website.

You can read the rest of my movie recommendations on this page

Something to add? We'd love to hear it!

