Quest for the Crispy Waffle pt 3

Leave a comment

October 10, 2012 by chriszumtobel

Another shot at the waffles!  This time I picked a much healthier whole grain recipe.  It had amazing reviews on allrecipes.com so I decided to give it a shot.  There are a good deal more ingredients than my other recipes I tried, but it was by far the easiest recipe I’ve found.

The waffles turned out much crispier than they did this time and tasted a million times healthier than these ones.  I liked the healthy taste and I felt a lot better about myself after breakfast than I had from the other waffles.  Although this will definitely be a recipe I keep in my repertoire, it’s still not the exact waffles I have in mind… Guess there will be a part 4 coming…

But I found the recipe here and highly recommend giving it a shot, as it provides a unique – but very popular –  result and only takes 15 minutes!

Ingredients:
2 eggs, beaten
1 3/4 cups skim milk
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup flax seed meal
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
Directions:
1. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, oil, applesauce, and vanilla. Beat in whole wheat pastry flour, flax seed meal, wheat germ, all-purpose flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt until batter is smooth.
2. Preheat a waffle iron, and coat with cooking spray. Pour batter into waffle iron in batches, and cook until crisp and golden brown.

The only changes I made were adding a half a teaspoon of cinnamon and replacing the whole wheat pastry flour with regular whole wheat flour.  They turned out crispy and tasty and the best part was there were no difficult steps, such as separating whites and yolks or folding yolks into the batter, like there had been in the other two recipes I had tried before.

You only have to make sure you have all of the ingredients – some of them are bit unusual – but if you check the reviews on allrecipes.com you will have no problem finding suggestions for replacing any ingredient you happen to be missing.  This is an easy, healthy, delicious recipe and if you are a waffle person (or know one) there is no reason not to give it a try!

Let me know what you think!

Something to add? We'd love to hear it!

