The Road to Understanding Your Money… And a Job?

Leave a comment

October 11, 2012 by chriszumtobel

I just learned the difference between a traditional IRA and a Roth IRA, the benefit of an option when investing in the stock market, and what happens if I mess it all up and need to file bankruptcy; and the best part was, it was it all free online!  Actually that might not even be the best part, the best part might be that it is all curated from engaging YouTube videos and I can learn at my own pace.

Okay, you know what?  That’s not even the best part.  The real best part is when I finish the whole course on business (Personal investing was one of three core classes and then I need two more electives), I will be given an opportunity to work for the website hosting all of this free education!

What is this wonderful website you ask? Well I guess I’ll tell you… but now you’ll just be competition… I guess it’s too late to keep it to myself now though.. *sneeze* COURSEHERO! *end sneeze*

The site itself has been around since 2006, but the free courses are a new addition, only just added in April of this year.  Right now, they only offer three different learning paths: Programming, Business (which both result in a potential job at the site), and Entrepreneurship (which results in the chance of a $5,000 investment in your dream company).

Personally I love the whole thing.  Not only the addition of more free online education – which is amazing – but the whole idea of requiring a person to pass classes on a subject before you even give them the opportunity to apply for a job.  I think it is a strategy that many more companies should adopt.  It not only weeds out the unambitious applicants, lacking the self-motivation to finish, but it gives you the opportunity to educate them on anything that would be of value to your company before you hire them (or even know about them for that matter).

I know I will be finishing up my Business course path (I’m starting a class on game theory related to Starcraft next!) and most likely the other two paths as well.  I mean why not!? It’s free, fun, I’m learning, and I may just get a job!

Have you been to CourseHero.com before?  What do you think of the courses?  And the idea of self-educating potential employees?

Something to add? We'd love to hear it!

