It Seems that War is Here to Stay…

7

October 12, 2012 by chriszumtobel

Because I’m in the middle of reading Slaughterhouse Five and because during the Vice Presidential debate last night, getting our troops out of Afghanistan seemed to be the only thing the two agreed on (well, almost agreed), I’ve decided it’s time to talk about why war isn’t going anywhere.

I’ll leave the explaining to Mr. Kurt Vonnegut himself. He was strongly anti-war in his writing and Slaughterhouse Five proves this to the reader page after page, but one of his most interesting passages regarding it comes during a conversation towards the beginning of the novel:

“Is it an anti-war book?”

“Yes,” I said. “I guess.”

“You know what I say to people when I hear they’re writing anti-war books?”

“No, what do you say, Harrison Starr?”

“I say. ‘Why don’t you write an anti-glacier book instead?'”

What he meant, of course, was that there would always be wars, that they were as easy to stop as glaciers.  I believe that, too.

Vonnegut has a way with comparisons – especially weird ones that somehow totally make sense – and its hard to deny his logic.  I mean there has always been war and there have always been glaciers.

But apparently, the glaciers are all melting slowly… and when they go away we’re gonna be in big trouble.  We can’t live without the glaciers, and we can’t live without war either…

Here’s a rather hilarious video of Vonnegut talking about some rather serious topics and demonstrating how strong his opinions on war and mankind really are.

7 thoughts on “It Seems that War is Here to Stay…

  1. Andreas says:

    I doubt Vonnegut would like for you to think that war is constant, though. After all, he did write an anti-war book.

  2. Krista says:

    I like this idea. His book The Sirens of Titan seem to have similar anti-war themes, but a little destiny in the mix. But yeah, I agree with what you’re saying here.

    • Happy to hear you agree, kind of, guess it’s a rather bleak outlook… haha But I’ll have to read Sirens of Titans, I’m loving Vonnegut! I’ve read a few of his books and I highly recommend Bluebeard if you haven’t read it, my favorite so far. Thanks for stopping by the blog!

Something to add? We'd love to hear it!

