Powell’s Must Be Heaven…

3

October 31, 2012 by chriszumtobel

A rainy day (of course) in my favorite city at the world’s greatest bookstore.  It doesn’t get much better.

image

Autumn is the best time of year, it’s totally book weather, whether it be book buying, book writing, or book reading.  And I was lucky enough to have a couple of hours to spend at Powell’s in Portland today (don’t even think about going without at least a couple of hours).

image

I hit the jackpot too, three great used books (with awesome covers), that I have been meaning to read, for only 15 bucks!  I got my first Bukowski, my first Nietzsche, and another Vonnegut.

image

And now I’m on the train, the perfect reading location… doesn’t get much better than this…

Only question now is which book to read first?

3 thoughts on “Powell’s Must Be Heaven…

  1. tycheent says:

    If you can stand Nietzsche, try “Thus Spoke Zarathustra: A Book for All and None”. It’s deep, and convoluted (as most philosophers seem to be). But it does progress a bit better than some of his other stuff. You might also like Kierkegaard, though that’s really tough slogging through.

  2. bellejarblog says:

    Autumn is definitely great book weather! The other day my husband and I were discussing whether or not it is also tea weather or scotch weather. I say tea, he says scotch. Maybe both?

Something to add? We'd love to hear it!

